By Ellie Peterson, Grade 7

Saturday Sounds

by Eliza Warnock

Saturday Sounds are the sizzling of bacon in the pan.

Saturday Sounds are garbage trucks picking up the cans early in the morning.

Saturday Sounds are the pitter patter of my dog’s footsteps waking me up.

Saturday Sounds are low rumbles of thunder as the clouds threaten to rain.

Saturday Sounds are my dogs panting and slow steps as we get closer to our destination.

Saturday Sounds are the leaves and grass crunching beneath my feet.

Saturday Sounds are the cars rumbling by on the way to their activities for the day.

Saturday Sounds are the kettle whistling and telling me that my water is ready for tea.

Saturday Sounds are the garage door pulling up announcing that my dad is home.

Saturday Sounds are the ding of the oven telling me that the biscuits are done.

Saturday Sounds are the commanding sounds coming from my trombone as I practice my pieces.

Saturday Sounds are the snoring of my father as he dozes off during another basketball game on tv.

Saturday Sounds are Garrison Keillor making jokes on the radio.

Saturday Sounds are Thacker Mountain Radio as my family all listens to our Saturday night ritual.

 

Art by Ellie Peterson, Grade 7